Sicily Art Studio in Caltagirone

Original artwork - Miriam Pace

Original artwork – Miriam Pace

I had written an article for the Italian-American newspaper, La Gazzetta Italiana on the art in the Sicilian city of Caltagirone, and I was pleasantly surprised a few days ago to see that my article was featured on their online version of the newspaper. Usually only four or five of the articles from the print version are in the online version so this was exciting for me.

Via Roma 155 Studio – Photo by Miriam Pace

It was especially exciting for me because now the artists that I met and wrote about in the article can read the story online. One of the artists, Miriam Pace, had graciously sent me a number of photos from the studio and I am including them in this post, since the La Gazzetta article cannot include them all.

Artist Santy Ufo in Caltagirone

Via Roma 155 Studio – Photo by Miriam Pace

Apparently this is a photo of the studio in the “before” stage. Quite impressive what artists can do in Sicily! I was very inspired by these artists who are following their dreams! They were very happy to show me all around their new studio recently opened where young artists can work for free.

Artists working in Via Roma 155 Studio – Photo by Miriam Pace

Original ceramics by Santy Partito

Oven used to bake ceramics

Via Roma 155 Studio – Photo by Miriam Pace

Entrance to Via Roma 155 Studio – Photo by Miriam Pace

About margieinitaly

The first time I traveled to Italy I fell in love with it. I started this blog when I was preparing to go to Italy for the third time. It seemed like I could never get enough of this beautiful place.I thought after that I wouldn't feel the need to return, but in less than a year I made my 4th trip to this beautiful country of my grandparents. I have just returned from a wonderful trip there and I know that I will be back sometime in the future. I feel at home there! I am a second-generation Italian-American with a passion for travel, and a particular love of Italy. I am a freelance writer and photographer, and write for La Gazzetta Italiana as well as several websites. I recently published a photo book from the first of three months in Italy, and have just completed writing my first book, "Memoirs of a Solo Traveler - My Love Affair with Italy," which is based on this blog and my solo travel adventure to Italy.
This entry was posted in Italy Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sicily Art Studio in Caltagirone

  1. I love the ceramic figures. How wonderful that your article was chosen for the online version. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

