Italy Travel – Photos from Portofino

Portofino

I love Portofino and had the chance to spend a day there a few years ago when I was on a Mediterranean cruise. It is one of the places where I would definitely hope to visit again.

Portofino castle

Portofino harbor

The harbor looks like a postcard, and it is very relaxing there. The town is so small that it doesn’t take much to see most of it.

A short walk uphill provides awesome views of the rugged Ligurian coastline.

Off the coast of Portofino

View from Portofino

Portofino draws celebrities from all over, although when I was there I did not see any. Even Napoleon used to come here to enjoy the beauty of this Italian seaside resort town.

On the streets of Portofino

Portofino church tower

Portofino harbor

Even the beautiful towns in Italy have laundry hanging outside. Somehow though, the visual is very charming.

Clotheslines in Portofino

About margieinitaly

The first time I traveled to Italy I fell in love with it. I started this blog when I was preparing to go to Italy for the third time. It seemed like I could never get enough of this beautiful place.I thought after that I wouldn't feel the need to return, but in less than a year I made my 4th trip to this beautiful country of my grandparents. I have just returned from a wonderful trip there and I know that I will be back sometime in the future. I feel at home there! I am a second-generation Italian-American with a passion for travel, and a particular love of Italy. I am a freelance writer and photographer, and write for La Gazzetta Italiana as well as several websites. I recently published a photo book from the first of three months in Italy, and have just completed writing my first book, "Memoirs of a Solo Traveler - My Love Affair with Italy," which is based on this blog and my solo travel adventure to Italy.
This entry was posted in Italian Culture and Lifestyle, Italy Photo, Italy Travel, Italy Travel Planning, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Italy Travel – Photos from Portofino

  1. LOVE this, Margie. The harbor shot is to “die for.” But even more, I love the warped curved trees on the hillside of the Castle view. It is what I remember most clearly about the coastline of Italy – beautiful, strong, and capable of great resilience. :-)

  2. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful little town.
    Jan

  3. aFrankAngle says:

    A beautiful place for sure. Here’s an oddity – look at what I posted today! http://afrankangle.wordpress.com/2012/08/14/on-a-stern-view/

  4. Pingback: One factor that may not come to mind right away when planning travel is weather

  5. imarancher says:

    Tried to leave a comment on the comment page, no dice. Did get on the comment page though and that is a step in the right direction as I could access pictures. I enjoyed Portofino through your eyes and especially the architecture. Italy is suffering hard times but the people and their architecture remain beautiful and leave a beautiful impression behind.

    On Wed, Aug 15, 2012 at 5:41 PM, margieinitaly wrote:

    > ** > margieinitaly posted: “ Portofino I love Portofino and > had the chance to spend a day there a few years ago when I was on a > Mediterranean cruise. It is one of the places where I would definitely hope > to v”

  6. Pingback: Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 153 « A Frank Angle

  7. Debra Kolkka says:

    I love Portofino and it is just a couple of hours from Bagni di Lucca so we go fairly often.

  8. Pingback: Portofino | Life in Minutes

Leave a Reply

