Headed to Sicily – Travel Plans

Passport pic photo by Margie MiklasI’ll be headed to Sicily soon and I’m flying into Palermo from Naples on  Volotea, one of the economy airlines in Europe. I’ve flown them before and had a good experience. You just have to be careful of the weight restrictions on both checked bags as well as carry-on, since they are less than what I’m used to with American carriers like Delta.

VoloteaI’m meeting  my good friend, Victoria De Maio from PostcardZ from Victoria and we will be driving around Sicily together. Yes #2SicilianGals on a Sicilian road trip!

In case you missed the story of how this came about, you can read it here.

PHOTO by Lubos HouskaTrapani

For the first part of our Sicilian road trip we will be on Sicily’s western coast checking out places I have not yet visited. High on my list were Trapani, Erice, Selinunte, Marsala, and Castelvetrano. and the good thing about a road trip is that we can stop wherever we we want along the way. Out itinerary is far from set in stone.

Sicily is known for many things but the dolci and pastry are on top of the list. And anyone who visits Sicily  simply must sample these delicious treats.

Sicilian Cannoli photo by Margie MiklasCannoli, cassata cake, pistacchio cookies, almond biscotti, and genovesi are just a few examples.

One of the first places I’m anxious to check out is in Erice, the medieval village situated high about Trapani. I have heard so much about this well-known-pastry place,  Pasticceria Maria Grammatico, and finally am going to experience it for myself.

I have heard that this is where the best cannoli in Sicily are, but I will let you know along the way as Victoria and I sample cannoli everywhere we go. Keep your eye out for #2SicilianGals on a #CannoliQuest.

Famous for its genovesi, pastries filled with ricotta cream or a milky custard cream, I will definitely have to try these, which supposedly are best if eaten warm.

Genovesi photo by Maria Grammatico websiteStay tuned in October for more photos and updates from Sicily!

“If you haven’t seen Sicily you haven’t seen Italy. Sicily is where the soul of Sicily is.” – Goethe

Have you been to Sicily? Most first-time visitors to Italy never venture this far south and don’t know what they are missing. I’d love to hear your experiences and your thoughts, so please leave a comment.

Grazie and Ciao.

If you liked this post and want to read more about Sicily, you might enjoy:
Travel Tips for Visiting Sicily.

You can stay updated on my travels on FaceBook  Instagram and Twitter .

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

About Margie Miklas

An award-winning author, Margie Miklas writes medical thrillers and travel memoirs about Italy, a place which has captured her passion for travel. She is also the creator and owner of the travel blog, Margie in Italy, and a contributing writer for an Italian-American newspaper. A retired critical-care nurse, she enjoys spending time with her family, including her three cats. Her favorite place is the beach, and she likes learning new computer skills, when she is not writing. A member of the Florida Writers Association, Margie makes her home in Florida.
This entry was posted in Italian lifestyle and culture, Italy Photo, Italy Road Trip, Italy Travel, Italy Travel Planning, TRAVEL and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Headed to Sicily – Travel Plans

  1. pamcarey says:

    Buon divertimento, Margie!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. anneharrison says:

    Have a great trip, I look forward to reading about it. Have only made it to Naples, that was enough for me to fall in love with the south, planning my return xx

    Like

  3. I love the Greek temples in Agrigento and the Roman mosaics in Piazza Armerina. And I wouldn’t rule out anyplace on the island for a great connolo, but whatever you do, don’t forget to get some chocolate in Modica! Happy Travels!

    Liked by 1 person

    • All those places are on our list, Karen!!! I have heard so much about the cioccolato in Modica!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, you should find Modica chocolate in other Sicilian shops if you don’t make it there. The texture is a little different from typical chocolate – grainier, but so delicious! You’re going to have so much to eat in Sicily – you’ll literally be like a kid in a candy shop!

        Like

  4. Debra Kolkka says:

    We didn’t get to Trapani and Erice. I look forward to your posts, they are on our list for next time.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have been to Sicily, but only o e trip, for 2 weeks. I would love to go back. I will live vicariously through your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Margie, have a wonderful time, stay healthy and safe. Ciao Carina😃

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Anonymous says:

    Margie, have a great time! Spent a week there about 5 years ago with my wife
    we drove over from Messina went to Taormina, Catania, Mt Etna drove across the island to Cefalu do not miss Cefalu the best! we stayed at the convent right on the water fantastic! The nuns would wait for us at the door at night to come home. then went to Monreale the cathedral is incredible!
    finished week staying with our friend Father Archangelo who was then at Maria Assunda church in Palermo. You will love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. If you’ve got time for a quick side trip, you should get the fast ferry from Trapani to Favignana in the Egadi Islands – lovely seafood restaurants and the sea is a beautiful blue.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’ll be with you in
    spirit! I can see you blissfully finishing your novel in Positano….have a great time!!!

    Like

  10. Tony says:

    I am so excited for you and this trip! I also look forward to hearing about your experiences, places you like best, food you like best, etc…it will be useful when I make my future trip to Sicily! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I know I am late in replying to this blog, but I must tell you Margie that I visited Sicily for the first time this summer and it was spectacular! Reading your book, “My Love Affair with Sicily” helped me to know what to expect. It was all that, and much more. PS I found wonderful cannoli everywhere (even at our hotel breakfast)! Can’t wait to bring a small group back with me next year for a tour!

    Like

Leave a comment